Administrative divisions

Article 8 of the 2014 constitution stipulates that “All Cantons in the autonomous regions are founded on the principle of local self-government. Cantons may freely elect their representatives and representative bodies, and may pursue their rights insofar as it does not contravene the articles of the Charter.”[124]

The cantons were later reorganized into regions with subordinate cantons/provinces, areas, districts and communes. The first communal elections in the region were held on 22 September 2017. 12,421 candidates competed for around 3,700 communal positions during the elections, which were organized by the region’s High Electoral Commission.[140][141] Elections for the councils of the Jazira RegionEuphrates Region and Afrin Region were held in December 2017.[15] Most of Afrin Region was occupied by Turkish-led forces in early 2018, though the administrative division continued to operate from Tell Rifaat which is under joint YPG-Syrian Army control.[55][142][143]

On 6 September 2018, during a meeting of the Syrian Democratic Council in Ayn Issa, a new name for the region was adopted, the “Autonomous Administration of North and East Syria”, encompassing the EuphratesAfrin, and Jazira regions as well as the local civil councils in the regions of Raqqa, Manbij, Tabqa, and Deir ez-Zor. During the meeting, a 70-member “General Council for the Autonomous Administration of North and East Syria” was formed.[55][1][56]

Regions Official name (languages) Prime Ministers Deputy Prime Ministers
Jazira Jazira Region
Akram Hesso Elizabeth Gawrie
Hussein Taza Al Azam
Euphrates Euphrates Region
Enver Muslim Bêrîvan Hesen
Xalid Birgil
Afrin Afrin Region
(in exile)
Hêvî Îbrahîm Remzi Şêxmus
Ebdil Hemid Mistefa
Raqqa Raqqa Region
Tabqa Tabqa Region
Manbij Manbij Region
Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor Region


Seal of the Syrian Democratic Council

In December 2015, during a meeting of the region’s representatives in Al-Malikiyah, the Syrian Democratic Council (SDC) was established to serve as the political representative of the Syrian Democratic Forces.[144] The co-leaders selected to lead the SDC at its founding were prominent human rights activist Haytham Manna and TEV-DEM Executive Board member Îlham Ehmed.[145][146] The SDC appoints an Executive Council which deal with the economy, agriculture, natural resources, and foreign affairs.[147] General elections were planned for 2014 and 2018,[147] but this was postponed due to fighting.

Related Posts